Leave a comment

Tell Me Lies, Tell Me Lies…

Why do people lie? I can understand a little white lie, or even lying in one or two other cases. To protect yourself or others. To big yourself up. I’m not saying I condone these lies, just that I understand them.

What I don’t understand is people telling blatant untruths, just to be malicious.

I suppose you’ll be wanting details, then…

Have you ever gotten somewhere new, met a group of new people, been immersed in a different culture with a set of unknown faces? If you have, did you have an initial spark with someone, just hit it off straight away?

I didn’t. this is something that happens often with me, but not this time. They’re all lovely people, but I can’t think about any of them in a sexual way.

Not according to one of my new “friends”.

I awoke on Sunday to start work, to be told “S says we spent all night kissing, I’m so sorry, because you have a girlfriend!”

She might have been too inebriated to remember, but I remember the whole night. We chatted. We danced. We did not kiss. It didn’t even cross my mind.

I’m annoyed that someone would say that. I’m angry that people now have a low opinion of me (“even if it didn’t happen, there’s no smoke without a fire!” apparently). I’m saddened that this made my girlfriend paranoid (apparently she thinks along the same lines ).

However, I’m mostly just confused! In what way will that enhance your day? Why would someone say that? Any ideas?

Leave a comment